Cravings

There was no warning, I never expected it.

No chance to prepare, to make a plan of action.

It came slowly. Its stealth beyond measure.

It crept upon the mind first. And the mind infected the heart.

Infecting it with an irreversible sickness called Love.

It seduced my dreams. Infiltrated my thoughts.

Hope grew from my heart like honeysuckle, winding it’s way through my ribs, creeping up my throat.

Soft petals came to rest upon my lips.

Delicately awaiting their sweet nectar to be sampled.

But hope is fragile. Easily squelched.

The vines tighten and pull. Constricting my ribcage, aching with longing, knotting in my throat.

But despite the pain they cause, I let the roots grow deeper.

It continues without permission. Beyond my control.

And the One who controls, seems to allow it to grow unhampered.

To what end? Only He knows. His timing. His timing.

His timing is perfect.

“Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to His power that is at work within us, to Him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen.”

~Ephesians 3:20

  • Notes: Love is not emotional. It involves emotion, but true love is an irreversible decision. It is not based on looks, attraction, feelings, crushes or hormones, but on standards and Spiritual maturity. Falling in love with someone is not always purely romantic, though it usually leads to it. Loving someone truly is caring for their good above your own, desiring to serve them. It’s never a perfect love, because we are flawed, sinful humans. Only God’s love is perfect. And if we allow Him to, He will foster this love in our hearts.
  • This is why a God-centered guy/girl friendship can lead to an extremely successful marriage.
3 thoughts on “Cravings

Tell me what you thought!

