Health Nuts Get To Have Fun!

Went shopping at Target today to get some time to myself and spend just a little of my hard earned money on something fun.

I have a rule about clothes shopping; for every “fashion” item I get (as in shirts, pants, dresses, or skirts), I donate or give away one or two things that I don’t wear very often. Usually things that I don’t wear because they don’t fit anymore. (Generally because they’re from before I found out about my wheat {or gluten} allergy, when I was about 30lbs heavier.) So, when I arrived home today, I dug through my closet and found four things to give away. Replacing them with the two items I got today: a blue maxi dress and a blue tank top with lace.

Back when I was overweight, I hated shopping. I could never find things that fit and looked good. I wore mostly jeans and oversized t-shirts to hide my figure as best I could. I struggled a lot with emotional eating back then, the only exercise I got was occasional yoga classes. When I discovered my wheat allergy, I had to completely change my diet.  So I decided, hey, I’m already turning my diet around in one way, why not take this chance to clean it up completely? So I did. I changed up my whole lifestyle, I started working out three times a week at home, and when I was old enough, joined a gym. I lift weights mostly, doing only 20mins of cardio twice a week (either on the bike or elliptical). With weightlifting, you gain muscle weight while you loose fat. Muscle is much denser and therefore heavier than fat. So though the scale shows that I’ve lost 30-33lbs, It’s actually more like 40 or 45. I went from a size 18 to a size 12-14. And the joint pain I used to have went away.

Now I enjoy shopping, it’s easy to find things that fit, and I like dressing in figure flattering, feminine outfits. I still workout three times a week, and I still eat a very clean diet, though I am not so strict that I don’t eat things I enjoy.

“Why are you rambling on about all this?” You ask? Well, I’m advocating a healthy lifestyle. Whether you need to loose weight, want to build lean muscle, or just want to feel better, eating cleanly and working out is an amazing way to boost self-esteem and feel better about yourself. I see so many women complain about their weight and then go to the break room and eat donuts, honey buns and candy. In my opinion, if you aren’t going to do the necessary things in order to be healthy, you have no right to complain about being unhealthy.

Getting healthy takes a lot of time. I started changing my lifestyle back in 2009, and at first the only change was feeling less bloated. Don’t go into it for a quick fix. It isn’t a diet. It’s a lifestyle change. It’s not temporary, you must keep it up, you have to do it for the rest of of your life. But it is totally worth it.

Think about it. 🙂

~TQG

One thought on “Health Nuts Get To Have Fun!

  1. I’m impressed, I have to say. Actually not often do I encounter a blog that’s both educative and entertaining, and let me inform you, you could have hit the nail on the head. Your thought is excellent; the issue is one thing that not enough persons are talking intelligently about. I am very blissful that I stumbled throughout this in my search for something relating to this.

Tell me what you thought!

