Soul Passion

It’s 12am, and I just worked nearly 9 hours, but I have to write this because:

I AM SO EXCITED!!!

I have a female coworker who started working on the same day that I did. She’s witty, and fun, and I enjoy her a lot.

As I’ve been at Lowe’s, many times I’ve felt strongly to share just the fact that I am a Christian with my coworkers, discuss it lightly with them, but never with her. Once I almost did, and it was as if God pulled me back and said “No, not yet. Wait. Now is not the right time.”

Today, I felt strongly that I should invite her to my college and career group, which is basically a church service for young people. I didn’t tell her the part about the church. I told her about live music and pool tables and snacks and fun people. She said she wanted to come. My thought was, If I get her there, I may be able to convince her to stay. “Waste” just two short hours of her life. After I got home and texted her the address, she asks “So what is it you guys do/talk about there?” and God said “Go for it.” So I told her all about it. She replied, “Ohhh. Sorry, I’m not into that. I was forced to go to Church as a kid, it’s not my thing. I’m actually a strong atheist now. Not knocking it if you like it, but I don’t want to go there.”

I replied “Well, the invitation is open, if you ever change your mind. I’ll remind you about it now and then. Yes, in the hopes that maybe you’ll come one day just to shut me up. ;)”

Then she said something I was totally not expecting.

“If you’re open to it, I’d like to talk about religion with you sometime, show you why getting me into a church is pretty hopeless.” and we proceeded to talk for a bit on text about how we both really love science, and that both of us enjoy having discussions with people with differing views, because if you’re too ignorant in your faith/belief to defend it, why bother believing it? She’s agreed to read a book I have called “I Don’t Have Enough Faith To Be An Atheist” and is going to meet me for coffee sometime just to talk about our differing views.

I AM SO EXCITED! 

There is nothing like sharing your faith with someone to really fire up your passion for God, for people, and for Heaven.

Am I scared? Yes. I don’t have all the answers, I can’t prove to her that I’m right. And I’m not going to. I’m going to listen. I’m going to learn. I’m going to answer the questions I can, and promise to find the answers for the ones I can’t. I’m going to show her that I love her, that I care about her soul, that I have a new life in me that is indescribable.

Even if she leaves merely thinking “Well there is a very nice but confused person.” I have planted the seed. God will eventually water it. Maybe not while I still know her, but He will.

Will she be saved? Maybe. And maybe not. But she will have heard the truth, and been told she is loved by her Creator.

As my Bible study leader has said:

You may be scared you’re gunna ‘push someone farther from God’ because you can’t answer their questions or you don’t know what words to say. Who do you think you are? Look, they’re already lost. They’re on the road to Hell. What, you so powerful you’re gunna send them to double Hell?”

So, my dear readers. I’m not sure yet when she and I will meet, but keep us in your prayers. Pray that God softens her heart and prepares it to hear what I have to say. Pray that I am a good listener. That I’m open to hear what she has to say, and open enough to allow God to speak through me. Pray that I can break through the shell she’s put around her heart and show her what it means to be loved with a Christlike love.

I’ll let you know how it goes.

~TQG

Tell me what you thought!

