The Seven Year Prayer

Due to stuff and things, I won’t get to baby sit those cute kids I mentioned last time. Which is sad. And it means $150 I will never see, as well. Which is mostly just sad because I’m unemployed right now.

The last few days have been pretty interesting. A group of my Bible study friends all went out to the lake (where I live there is a HUGE man-made lake that the locals all love to swim and boat and jet-ski in.) and had a nice evening of swimming and floating around, and then went out to eat afterwards. Quite a lot of fun. But that’s boring to you so I’ll skip to the more fascinating bit…

Seven years ago, I had a best friend. Over time, things happened between us and she decided I was no longer her friend, broke ties in a rather hurtful way, and since then refused to talk to me, though I tried hard to fix our friendship.

Recently, she contacted me. I was reluctant. I’ve grown since then and realized that our friendship was not a healthy one. I practically worshiped her and she ruled over me. And from what I could tell by her emails and texts, though she wanted to see me again, she still held ill will regarding my family. So I told her that I would see her, under the condition that she come to my house and see me and my family. She refused, saying she wanted me to meet her somewhere by myself.

The day I was at the lake, she sent me a text saying she had decided that she would do whatever it took to reconcile our friendship, and asked if I would see her the next day. So I told her to drop by my house.

She did. I wasn’t sure what to expect from her. Initially she looked fearful of being at my house, around my mother. But she came in and gave me a fierce hug. We didn’t bring up the past, just what was going on in our lives currently. She stayed about 30 minutes, and by the time she left, she gave both my mom and I a big hug.

At this point, I know we will never be as close as we were back then. But to think that seven years ago, I prayed that there would be a time when we would be on good terms with one another again, and it’s finally been answered. God’s timing is pretty amazing.

Anyway, just thought I’d share with you guys. Today I am on a Doctor Who mission, I finally broke down and bought Series 7 on iTunes and have been watching it. Best show ever. I am a geek.

Oh, also, random boring bit. I usually hate Summer. Because I hate heat. But yesterday, when I came home from the gym, still feeling energized, I went for a walk around the block. Mostly because my newly acquired tan (AKA, freckles. The pale girls tan.) needed some sun and I was wearing a racer back tank top. I actually enjoyed it! The heat wasn’t so bad! In the shade it was lovely, actually. Who knew?

 

TTFN, peoples!

~TQG

Tell me what you thought!

