The Perks of Being a Wallflower

DISCLAIMER: I have not seen the movie with this title, nor do I intend to due to content. I in no way am trying to support the movie with this post. 

tumblr_lr16xm7Xid1qf6dtso1_500

Recently I’ve discovered there is one very interesting perk to being a fairly quiet person. One that I didn’t expect.

I’ve always felt that the less you talk, the more valuable your words become. Spending time to think before you speak has a tendency to purify your words. You talk about less “fluff”. And, in contrast, the more you talk, especially if you tend to talk about meaningless things just to fill silence, the less weight your words have. The people around you, intentional or not, have trained themselves to tune you out sometimes, so they have to work to hear you more.

Not to bash small talk, or joking around about light, fluffy things sometimes. There’s nothing wrong with that at all. But I think it’s important to remember to use your words wisely, or you may  become one who just spouts background noise.

In my rather quiet, observant nature, I tend to only speak out in a group setting if I feel that something important is being left out of the discussion, or misrepresented, or is just incorrect. Even then I don’t like talking to a whole group, so I weigh my words carefully for a bit while I decide if it’s really important to say them. Talking to a large group scares me. But, when I’m passionate about something, I have to speak up.

Apparently the people around me have caught on to this. When I do take that step out of my comfort zone and say something to the group, everyone pays attention. At first this really terrified me, because I don’t enjoy being the center of attention. But I’m realizing that they’re paying attention because my words mean something to them. They have respect for me, and have realized that if I’m volunteering to say something, it must be important. Intimidating as it may be, it’s a sign that they hold me in high regard, and that means a lot to me. Truthfully, if someone interrupts me or cuts me off, I usually just abandon what I was saying and don’t come back to it. I don’t want to fight for someone’s ear; if they don’t want to hear what I have to say, I’m not one to make them listen. The fact that I don’t have to with this group of people means the world to me. Not to mention, it also holds me accountable for my speach.

God’s really blessed me greatly with this group of people. Using them to show me things about Him and about myself that I never knew before. Pretty awesome.

Until next time!

~TQG

Tell me what you thought!

