What Are You Waiting For?

A while back, while buying some books for a friend off Amazon, I saw a book that looked to me to be a very informative book about sexual purity. So, I purchased this book, but had it sent to my friend, with instructions to send it to me when she was finished reading it. (We live on opposite sides of the united states, thus, we mail things a lot) She mailed it to me several months ago and I just hadn’t gotten around to reading it yet. Last night, after reading “Things I Wish I’d Known Before We Got Married” by Gary Chapman (which was also a pretty decent book, but I feel that he didn’t clearly enough state the importance of the Spiritual aspect of marriage), I started the book she sent me, “What Are You Waiting For? The One Thing No One Ever Tells You About Sex” by Dannah Gresh.

Oh. My. Word. Such an incredible book. So far I’m about three fourths of the way through it and let me just say, it’s such an excellent tool for sexual purity. It’s written towards a female audience, but I think it would be extremely beneficial for guys to read as well.  She goes back to the greek root words used in the Bible to show the true meaning and intention of sex, and how God views it. She also talks about the science of sex and how it affects your brain. It’s probably the best book on the subject I’ve ever read.

If you’re reading this blog, I encouraging you to go out and buy this book. Even if you don’t think you need it, you haven’t been struggling with sexual purity, you find the topic awkward and prefer not to approach it at all, etc. Whatever your excuse is, get over it and go get this book. It’s well worth your time.

Another thing I ask of you: Recently I’ve been burdened to pray for the purity, both mental and physical, of my brothers in Christ. The ones I know and ones around the world that I may never meet. Prayer is powerful. If we all pray for their battle, they will be strengthened by the Holy Spirit and become the Warriors for Christ that our generation needs. Women need this prayer as well, but lets face it, God has designed men to be our (speaking to the ladies) spiritual leaders, if they are victorious in the battle over purity, they can then be the Leaders that inspire us to be victorious as well. Pray for them with me, please.

Until next time!

~TQG

Tell me what you thought!

