Architecture

Before I go into this multifaceted post, I have to say, I am honored. Lately I’ve gained several new followers here on my blog and gotten a few responses, and I greatly appreciate the support. If you’re reading this and following me, thank you.

While I was in the mountains of West Virginia, I took a walk. I had to bundle up to do so, it was something like 7 degrees outside, but once my body adjusted, I started to appreciate how incredibly beautiful it was.

The view through the picture window in our cabin.

The view through the picture window in our cabin.

Another angle from the window.

Another angle from the window.

At that time of day, a blizzard was chaotically swirling huge snow flakes all around me, and the mountains in the distance were veiled in a hazy coldness that just seemed perfect. Flawless. And my ride on the ski lift (seen in the background of these two pictures) was just as breath taking. I particularly enjoy being up high, and the view from there was amazing. God is quite the artist.

Recently, God revealed something to me. When I stop trying to “do better” or “try harder” and just commit myself to Him, He steps in and supports me in that commitment. I’ve been struggling with sin in a particular area of my life, and it seemed that no matter how hard I tried, how much effort I put into avoiding it, I couldn’t defeat it. It was breaking me, leaving me with constant guilt and depression. Finally, just about two weeks ago, I prayed a desperate prayer. I told God that I was done trying. Because trying wasn’t good enough. I was done with “doing my best”, because my best will never be good enough. I said, “God, I am committing this to You, that I will not fall into this sin again, and I ask that You support me in this commitment, and give me the strength it takes to keep it unbroken.” And my God has come through on that request in ways I never imagined. Several times since then, temptation has presented itself, and each time I’ve said, sometimes out loud, “I made a commitment.” and it’s as if God just takes the temptation completely away. It’s nothing I’m doing, it’s the gracious love of Christ coming in and helping me honor my commitment to Him. I’m so humbled by this. I don’t deserve it. I don’t understand why He loves me, but I’m so thankful He does. I am not defined by my sin, I am defined by His love.

When I arrived to my first day back at work this week, I was greeted by a completely unexpected surprise. I am the “Associate Of the Month” for the month of December! I’m very thankful for the blessing of a job where I am valued and appreciated by my superiors. It’s definitely encouraging, it motivates me to be even better at my job. Though it is kinda embarrassing to have my picture on the wall in the break room…

If you’re a detail oriented person such as myself, you are probably wondering “So… what’s with the title of this blog?” Well, my likeminded reader, it is inspired by a song that I recently heard on my favorite radio station (Air1 Radio), which I would like to share with you!

It was playing in my head the day I went for a walk in the mountains. Also, this song came to mind too, because I am a geek. 

I love mountains. They put me in a fantastic, majestic mood. They make me want to soar on wings like eagles.

But those who hope in the LORD will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.

~Isaiah 40:31

 

Tell me what you thought!

