Awkward Silence

wpid-fb_img_1436121436080.jpg

Disclaimer: this is from Pinterest. I didn’t make it, I know nothing about the dude who said it, and I don’t have a tumblr nor to I visit the site. I just like this quote.

Today I had a moment of “awkward silence” with someone, and after I got home I saw this quote. It made me feel better about myself and my social foibles. Why do we feel awkward about a moment of silence? Must every moment of time spent with someone be filled with speech? And really, if someone avoids you because you’re sometimes “awkward”, are they really the kind of person you want to be around? After all, a friend that youΒ haveΒ to be interesting around just to keep their attention, isn’t a real friend. We’re all boring, guys. I mean, really. We’re all very interesting too, if you take the time to appreciate each person’s own unique qualities and interests. We’re all awkward in our own way, we’re all awesome in our own way.

Anyway, I’m sort of preaching to myself here. Don’t think that all my “don’t be ashamed of your social problems” talk is me speaking from a point of confidence. It’s a huge weakness in my life, but I’m working really really hard to heal it, with God’s help. Getting there slowly but surely. Sometimes I just need to type up a little pep talk to myself. Maybe one of you needed one too. πŸ™‚

One thought on “Awkward Silence

  1. I feel we fill our “life” with sound for true silence scares us. also, in silence we only have ourselves to listen to, and that can become disturbing. think of the movie with tom hanks were he is the lone survivor of a fedex plane crash. he has to talk to a ball. if you really listen, music is all around us.
    I don’t mind silence, but I do agree, when getting to know someone, the beginnings where times of silence invades the time spent with that person, can and does feel unnerving.

Tell me what you thought!

