Missing you

Before reading my blog, I highly recommend reading this blog. It encouraged me a lot today, and I hope it will do the same for you. 🙂

As someone who is struggling with a lot of loneliness, it reminded me to appreciate who I am, learn to love myself for who I am and be patient. And don’t misunderstand, I’m not talking about being patient waiting for a man, but just friends. I have plenty of people who I am friends with, but in realty, there are few, if any, who meet all of the following traits:
#1. Not long distance. (I love my long distance friends, but real hugs are way superior to cyber hugs.)
#2. Strong, on fire for God Christians.
#3. Understand how to both listen and speak.
#4. Trust-worthy/Capable of keeping private things private.

But I have had a friend who was all of these, who I could always depend on to listen when I needed them, who knew how to be quiet and listen but also how to give killer advice, and even confront me when I was being selfish.

My mom.

In 3 months and 22 days, it will have been one year since she went home. But it sure doesn’t feel like it’s been that long. The pain of her loss may be duller and less obvious most of the time, but it only takes one little reminder, one well placed memory, to bring it right back up to the surface again. Tonight is one of those nights.

I don’t have much to share or any great insights for you tonight, just venting a bit.I need a hug. That special kind of hug that doesn’t feel even the slightest bit awkward. That’s gentle and loving and understanding without having to say it. I need a mom hug. But only one mom in the history of ever was qualified to administer that kind of hug to me. I guess I’ll just have to wait.

~TQG

Tell me what you thought!

