Twenty Years From Now

I hope, twenty years from now, you’ll stand in line at the store, lost in your own thoughts, and feel a tap on your shoulder.

I hope the face of a friend from years and years ago will greet with you with a smile and a warm hug, and ask you how your life has been.

I hope they’ll laugh at your stories, and tell you how great you look, and mention my name.

I hope, with all my heart, that you will not say

“Oh, her? I haven’t seen her in ages.”

“I almost forgot about her!”

“Ah, she.. that didn’t work out.”

I hope, instead, that they see a gleam in your eye,

A joy in your heart, as you say,

“She’s waiting for me at home.”

2 thoughts on “Twenty Years From Now

Tell me what you thought!

