Of Arrows and Employment and C.S. Lewis!

I’ve been crazy busy lately. Working long days at a new job, which is kinda stressful. So I haven’t had much time to blog.

Hopefully I’ll be practicing some archery tomorrow with my dad. He got me a gorgeous blonde wood recurve bow for Christmas, and I’m super excited to try it out! I’ve done some archery before, but with a compound bow, which I don’t like as well. They’re just so modern looking, I like the older, Lord of the Rings looking bows.

Me, sometime early in 2012, with a little compound bow.

Me, sometime early in 2012, with a little compound bow. (Lost a bit of weight since then. Yay!)

Been working on my upper body endurance at the gym, so I don’t wear out so quickly. The little compound was a 20lbs draw weight, and I was worn out in an hour. My recurve is almost 30lbs, and my arm shakes if I hold it for more than 10 seconds or so. I’m gunna be so sore… But, it’s a great break from the stress of the new job. Praise God for days off.

Anyway, that’s what’s up with me as of late!

By the way, if any of you are wondering “What is with this girl and the C.S. Lewis quotes?” My Bible is “The C.S. Lewis Bible”, it’s an NRSV with Lewis quotes throughout. If you see me posting quotes, they are ones I found while doing my daily Bible reading, and they’re in reference to the section of scripture I was in. I used to have a little pocket sized NIV, and I liked it, but there was not enough room for notes. And I really like the added insights from C.S. Lewis. They help me think more deeply on the part of scripture I’m reading.

So, that’s all, folks! Until next time!

~TQG

Patience With Myself

How right you are to see that anger (even when directed against oneself) “worketh not the righteousness of God.” One must never be either content with, or impatient with, oneself. My old confessor (now dead) used to impress on me the need for the 3 Patiences: patience with God, with my neighbor, with oneself.

~C.S. Lewis – March 31, 1954, in a letter to Mary Willis Shelburne.

For reflection on Job 6:11